Top 5 Songs: The Week of 7/19/13

5. “An Ending (Ascent)” – Brian Eno

This is by far the most unique song I think I’ve covered on this blog so far, and despite being only #5 as far as my music for this week goes, it’s one of my favorite songs of all time.  That’s a lot to say for me, given that “An Ending (Ascent)” is an ambient, completely instrumental song, but it’s an honor this masterpiece deserves.  It’s the most peaceful and serene song I think I’ve ever heard, having an almost heavenly quality to the sound.  I honestly don’t know what more I can say about the song to give credit to it, but I absolutely love this song.

4. “The (Shipped) Gold Standard” – Fall Out Boy

“The (Shipped) Gold Standard” features many of Fall Out Boy’s signature instrumentation and pop-punk style, but as with much of their Folie Á Deux album, it branches out from their usual sound a bit.  It still has Pete Wentz’s typical lyrical quality, however, particularly with the irony in the lines, “I want to scream ‘I love you’ from the top of my lungs / But I’m afraid that someone else will hear me.”  There’s also some interesting harmonizing and falsetto use in the chorus, making it particularly infectious.

3. “G.I.N.A.S.F.S.” – Fall Out Boy

“G.I.N.A.S.F.S.” (which stands for “Gay Is Not A Synonym For Shitty”) has more of a classic Fall Out Boy feel, bursting with energy, with furious guitars and a heart-thumping beat.  The lyrics themselves seem to speak to an ended relationship, dealing with the aftermath of the breakup.  I really enjoy the virtually non-stop energy of the song, as well as the lyrics, which are interesting as Fall Out Boy’s always are.

2. “Disloyal Order Of Water Buffaloes” – Fall Out Boy

Kicking off with church organs, “Disloyal Order Of Water Buffaloes” soon escalates into a booming anthem that demands, “Boycott love.”  With a thumping drum beat and lively guitar, it’s one of those songs that just demands that you sing along.  This is particularly true in the energetic bridge, which repeats “Detox / Just to retox” over and over.

1. “What A Catch, Donnie” – Fall Out Boy

There’s a reason that this Elton John-esque ballad is number one this week; it is quite possibly the most epic song Fall Out Boy has ever put out.  As if the solemn piano tune that backs the whole song and the grand string melodies weren’t impressive enough, the close of the song becomes a huge throwback to Fall Out Boy’s most notable songs, kicking off with lines from “Headfirst Slide Into Cooperstown On A Bad Bet” from earlier in the Folie Á Deux album sung by Elvis Costello, then followed up with a massive round of various guest stars singing the most notable songs from every release of theirs, and finally softening back to solely piano as Patrick Stump sings the opening lines of the song (“I’ve got troubled thoughts / And the self-esteem to match / What a catch”) once more.  As I said before: It’s a truly epic piece, and even though it’s not much like Fall Out Boy’s typical style, they pull it off with aplomb.

Leave a Reply

