Top 5 Songs: The Week of 7/5/13

5. “Lost!” – Coldplay

Although this song (like much of the rest of the album) has a sort of unhappy mood to it, I really love the fact that it’s one of those songs that says, “Things aren’t going right, but it’s not always going to be that way.”  I feel like more songs tend to stick to one or the other, but “Lost!” manages to capture the negative while also trying to be positive about it.  Opening up with the line, “Just because I’m losing doesn’t mean I’m lost,” it maintains that mood throughout, with a catchy foot-stomping beat and organs playing throughout.

4. “Strawberry Swing” – Coldplay

Another song from the same album (I just got this album recently and listened to it for the first time last week, which would be why it’s such a recurring theme in my top five), “Strawberry Swing” is a bit of a happier song, although I see underlying sadness as well.  A nostalgic tune calling back to happy times from childhood, the actual music most significantly consists of finger-picking of guitar plus synths.  To me, the song seems a bit of a sad recollection of good times.  As nostalgia so often does, I feel like it’s created more of a sadness that those good times can’t be brought back in this song.  Regardless, I love the happy, upbeat-ness about it, as well as the sadness underneath the surface of the song.  It’s both catchy and emotional, to me.

3. “Please Say No” – Jimmy Eat World

“Please Say No” is slowly becoming my favorite track from Jimmy Eat World’s new album.  As time goes on, I’m realizing more and more how heartbreaking a song this is in its lyrics, and I’m starting to feel that it’s about a marriage that’s ended, particularly through the mention of kids in the second verse of the song.  The whole thing seems a story of one half of the couple feeling unable to let go of that marriage and feeling like that’s still who they are, and telling this to the other hoping to be turned down, because anything else will create the same mistake that existed in the first place.  The lyrics alone have me sold, of course, but just the slow acoustic guitars and Jim Adkin’s voice throughout, not to mention the echoing piano throughout the bridge, make for an equally emotional melody.

2. “Death And All His Friends” – Coldplay

Another Coldplay song, “Death And All His Friends” is, thus far, my favorite from this particular album, and it’s a perfect album closer.  I love the startup with the soft piano, leading into slightly louder guitars, and exploding into a motivational, call-to-arms-esque middle to the song, and finally ending with the same melody that started the whole album in “Life In Technicolor.”  Combine that with the conclusion to an album wrought with strife and sadness with a bold declaration of “I don’t want to follow death and all of his friends” and you’ve got a wonderful track.  I love the buildup, the distinct pieces of the song that still flow together wonderfully, and the sparse but excellent lyrics that really take it to the next level.

1. “I’ve Got A Dark Alley And A Bad Idea That Says You Should Shut Your Mouth (Summer Song) – Fall Out Boy

This song returns from last week, and I still feel pretty much the same about it.  My feelings have developed, however; “I’ve Got A Dark Alley” is one of those songs that grows on me every time I listen to it.  I love that it’s just soft enough to be enjoyable on mellow occasions, but has the drive and excitement to it to be enjoyable on happier ones.  I love the lyrics as well, and I’ve found it to become a quick favorite of mine.

3 comments

  1. The ending to Death and All His Friends is a ‘hidden track’ called The Escapist.

    1. Right, I do remember reading that that’s a hidden track. I probably should’ve mentioned that bit, thanks for pointing it out. 🙂

      1. Oh, no problem.

Leave a Reply

